Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University
University dining services

Where the Cowboys Dine

Dietary Needs

UDS recognizes that a number of our students have special dietary needs such as allergies, intolerances and dietary preferences. Our UDS team is dedicated to meeting your dietary needs through providing nutrition resources, education and awareness across campus.

Personalized Help

Patty Anson, Dietitian
Patty Anson, RDN, LD, CDE

UDS also has a registered dietitian, Patty Anson, available to meet with students regarding any special dietary needs they may have. 

Patty Anson, RDN, LD, CDE is the nutrition expert for University Dining Services (UDS). She meets with prospective and current students with food allergies and special nutrition needs and helps them transition from home to the college dining setting.

 

 

 

 

 

Have a question for her? Fill out the form below. 

 
 

 

Allergens

UDS understands that eating away from home with food allergies and intolerances can be very challenging and stressful. UDS is dedicated to providing support to students with food allergies through education, staff training and working with students.

UDS is currently working on updating a database to help students identify gluten and the eight major allergens ( peanuts, treenuts, soy, wheat, fish, shellfish, dairy and eggs) in our food options on campus.

Specific Allergy Information:

Peanut Allergies

Peanut

This icon indicates the menu item contains peanuts or one of its derivatives. Oklahoma State University Dining adheres to the Food Allergy Research and Education organization’s list of ingredients to avoid for peanut allergies. Peanut oil is not marked as an allergen at this time. Highly refined peanut oil is not required by FDA to be identified as containing soy.  When Net Nutrition (online nutrition database system) is available, you will be able to look up an ingredient list for most items served. Most baked items are prepared in a kitchen that also prepares items containing peanuts and treenuts.  

Treenut Allergies

Tree Nuts

This icon indicates the menu item contains treenuts or one of its derivatives. Oklahoma State University Dining adheres to the Food Allergy Research and Education organization’s list of ingredients to avoid for treenut allergies.

Milk (Dairy) Allergies

Milk (Dairy)

This icon indicates the menu item contains cow’s milk and/or one or more of its derivatives. Oklahoma State University Dining adheres to the Food Allergy Research and Education organization’s list of ingredients to avoid for dairy allergies. This icon can also be used for lactose intolerance. Soy and Almond milk are available at some of the convenience stores.

Egg Allergies 

Egg

This icon indicates the menu item contains egg and/or one or more of its derivatives. Oklahoma State University Dining adheres to the Food Allergy Research and Education organization’s list of ingredients to avoid for egg allergies.

Fish Allergies 

Fish

This icon indicates the menu item contains fish and/or one or more of its derivatives. Oklahoma State University Dining adheres to the Food Allergy Research and Education organization’s list of ingredients to avoid for fish allergies.

Shellfish Allergies

Shellfish

This icon indicates the menu item contains shellfish and/or one or more of its derivatives. Oklahoma State University Dining adheres to the Food Allergy Research and Education organization’s list of ingredients to avoid for shellfish allergies.

Soy Allergies

Soy

This icon indicates the menu item contains soy and/or one or more of its derivatives. Oklahoma State University Dining adheres to the Food Allergy Research and Education organization’s list of ingredients to avoid for soy allergies. Soybean oil is not marked as an allergen at this time. Highly refined soybean oil  is not required by FDA to be identified as containing soy. 

Wheat Allergies

Wheat

This icon indicates the menu item contains wheat or one of its derivatives. Oklahoma State University Dining adheres to the Food Allergy Research and Education organization’s list of ingredients to avoid for wheat allergies.

Gluten Allergies

Gluten

FDA doesn’t require gluten to be labeled on food items. The FDA has labeling requirements for gluten-free. The FDA defines gluten-free as a food containing less than 20 ppm of gluten.  Although Oklahoma State University Dining Services has researched the allergens and gluten to the fullest extent and does serve foods that are labeled gluten-free, we are not a 100% gluten-free establishment. The absence of a gluten item does not mean that the item is certified gluten-free. 

Unknown Allergies

?

 This icon indicates the menu item has not been evaluated for allergens and students with food allergies or intolerances should avoid this item. Please aware that OSU Dining cannot definitively say if this food contains allergens.

Allergen Disclaimer

Oklahoma State University makes effort to identify ingredients that may cause allergic reactions for those with food allergies. Items marked gluten friendly are made with no gluten-containing ingredients. The allergen information provided is accurate and up-to-date to the best of our knowledge, but it is based entirely on the information provided by our ingredient manufacturers and suppliers. Because of the number of meals served, the number of items used each day, food product changes from our food vendors, and/or the limited number of allergens that manufacturers are required to disclose, it cannot be guaranteed that every allergen in the food served will be identified and labeled. There is always a risk that our menu items may contain allergens or may have come in contact with other items containing allergens. There is also a possibility that manufacturers of the commercial foods we use could change the formulation at any time, without notice. Our foods are prepared in facilities where peanuts, tree nuts, fish, shellfish, wheat, soy, milk, and eggs are also prepared.

Customers concerned with food allergies need to be aware of this risk. Oklahoma State University will not assume any liability for adverse reactions to foods consumed, or items one may come in contact with while eating at any of the University establishments. It is the responsibility of the customer with food allergies or other specified nutritional concerns to make the final judgment on whether or not to question the ingredients of a food item or to choose to eat the foods selected. Guests are encouraged to consider the information provided, to their own satisfaction, in light of their individual needs and requirements. Guests with food allergies, food intolerance's, or other special-diets that require abstaining from certain food items should consult a Chef or Dining Manager for specific ingredient questions when in the dining facility. Students and guests are encouraged to contact the UDS Registered Dietitian at (405) 744-4424 for additional information and/or support.

 

Allergen Information for Franchise Locations

Caribou Coffee

Chick-fil-A

Baja Fresh

Which Wich

Johnny Rockets

Jamba Juice